top of page

In in the end it will be....CARBON FIBER!

Some say Aluminum....some say steel, some say carbon fiber...there are many ways to build the fin of a mini keel. I first tried the aluminum way as per architect recommendations. SInce I could not find a reliable welder, i turned toward steel, weldox 900 steel. But in the end I could not fine a supplier of that material so the only options was carbon fiber!

the 2 halves molds just coming out of the CNC machine

2 halves after vacuum lamination

after assembly

the bulb just arrived! 280kg of pure lead. I got a very good design for the bulb, not sure if it makes a big difference in the end, lets see!

They say lead is a very soft metal.................well they did not try to dig 15cm deep into a 280kg bulb....

I need to dig the cavity that will hold the tip of the fin....good luck to me!!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
Pas encore de mots-clés.
bottom of page